Who We Are

   
 

Episcopal services were held occasionally in Afton as early as 1793, when the Village was known as South Bainbridge.  The first attempt at regular services started sometime in the mid 1800’s.  In 1860, the parish was incorporated under the name and title of “The Rector, Wardens and Vestrymen of St. Ann’s Church in the Town of Afton, Chenango County” and enjoyed mission status.   

In 1867, the original church was constructed, at a cost of something under $1000.  In 1890, the church was struck by lightning and the structure completely destroyed.  Rebuilding was completed and the church reopened for services in September of 1891, at a cost of about $3000.

In 1955, the attached parish hall was completed.  The kitchen equipment was furnished entirely by St. Ann’s Women’s Auxiliary. 

The above information is taken from minutes of Vestry meetings.  The minutes document a history of dedication by Priests and lay people to the continuation of Episcopal services in Afton and of dedication to service in the community.  Our mission statement is:

“Sharing God’s Love in Our Community Through Prayer, Study and Action” and we believe that this is what God is calling us to do. 

We have approximately 90 members. Sunday attendance averages around 25.  Whether you are searching, passing through or just curious, any and all are welcome to join us for worship and to stay after the service for our coffee hour. 

 
 

 
Return to Home Page    Click to return to home page